The Art of Photography

Taking photos seems to be a challenge for most of us that haven’t been schooled in the art of photography.  Getting the right balance of  light and controlling reflections has always been one of my biggest challenges when photographing my jewelry.  I can always count on sunshine most days of the year  living in the southwest and up until a few months ago I did all of my photography outdoors.  I thought about it and decided that I really didn’t want to have to fair the cold weather this year to take photographs so I purchased a photo tent a few months ago.

 My Photo Tent

It has been quite a challenge to learn how to get the light just right with photographing indoors.  It was like learning how to photograph from scratch all over again.  I had to learn how to control the  light source all over again and get the photograph staged just right.

I guess I have to count my lucky start for digital photography; otherwise I would have wasted countless rolls of photo film.  Just one of the advantages of modern photography, I guess.

Practice, Practice, Practice…..

Here is a look at some of my latest photos, certainly much better than when I first started using the photo tent.

 Red Agate and Malachite Bracelet

Green Aventurine and Amethyst Bracelet

Carnelian and Fire Agate Bracelet

Red Creek Jasper and Copper Link Bracelet

Have you had any similar experiences with your photography?  Please share you stories.

6 Responses

  1. cool

  2. The pictures are great. I don’t have a photo tent. Now a days I take pictures in the day light. It is much better than my older ones. Also, I am trying to play with the settings.
    Also, I hope, you will write about how to add the Guild members to the blog.
    Thank you
    Looking forward to read more.

    • Thanks Bindu. I used to take all my pictures outside as well but I think using the photo tent has made a big difference. I am just relearning techniques. If your camera has macro and super macro features, give it a try. I discovered those settings after reading Tony’s photography Q&A, it has made a world of difference in my jewelry photos. And yes I have been working on a how-to document that I will be sending out to all the guild members. It is just taking me a little longer than I thought it would…..

      • I added an article about DIY photo tent. It can be viewed here:http://bindudesigns.wordpress.com/2010/11/02/diy-photo-tent-ideas/

  3. Great article! I think it’s very important for jewelry artist to be creative and professional with their photography. A bad photograph can easily misrepresent a beautiful piece of artistry. Your photo examples are gorgeous. They make me want to see more and entice me into your studio! Nice job.

    • Thanks for the compliments on my photos. I have struggled with photography since I opened my studio on ArtFire. I think it is a continual evolution and learning process. Thanks again and see you around Artfire.

Leave a Reply

