A Look At My Studio

I thought I would share glimpse of my work shop this week.  I thought about cleaning it up first but decided against it.  I cleaned it up about two weeks ago, so it isn’t in too bad of shape yet.  It really isn’t much just a small corner in the garage that my husband was gracious enough to surrender.  I don’t think he ever thought he would have to give up any of his precious space in the garage.   The space I have works for now.

On the left side of the workbench I have my tool chest.  That is the invisible boundary between my space and his space.  The “Less Nessman tape” so to speak. Oh, look now I am dating myself.  My tool chest has a lot of my tools.  files, burnisher,  brushes, screw drivers, pipe benders, and punches.  A lot of the tools were handed down from my grandfather.  He did metalsmithing as a hobby.  I sure wish I would have been more interested in jewelry making when he was alive.

The center of the bench is where I keep my beading board, this is where I do most of my layout work and assembly of my pieces.   Everything is within hands reach from my board.  Beads on the left and finding on the right. 

On the right side I have a narrow bench where I do some of my metal forming and hammering.  On the end of this bend is my baby anvil.  I just love this anvil. It is great for working with small wire and pieces of silver or copper. 

Well, there’s a quick look of my studio.

10 Responses

  1. I love love love when I can see others’ workspaces. So many artisans underestimate the value in showing where you do the creating. Thank you so much, this really shows the human aspect of what you are doing… so important to distinguish your real, hand crafted quality goods from all the mass consumerism. Fantastic!! 🙂 I have to get some photos of my workspace, but I DO need to clean up first, because you can’t even really “distinguish” what the heck it IS at this point!!!
    See you “round Artfire!

    • I’m glad you enjoyed my post. My workspace isn’t much but it is my little corner of bliss. It is not always so presentable, I had just tidied up a bit to take photos for my handmade artifact on Artfire. It looks like a completely different space today. I was not exactly blessed with domestic skills, LOL. Thanks for stopping by.

  2. I love getting a peek into other jewelry artist’s studios. Thanks for sharing!

    • Linda
      thanks so much for stopping by my blog. It is always great to connect with another artist.

      Happy creating, Daylene

      • In the meantime, since I posted the comment above, I’ve joined Art Fire! I used to be with 1000 Markets, but they sold out to Bonanza. So I’m in the process of moving my shop to Art Fire and the Pro deal was too good to pass up. I’m heading over to check out your shop there now. 🙂

      • That is great Linda! If you need any help setting up your store or finding your way around Artfire, just send me a message and I’ll help if I can. I think you will like it Artfire, I know I do. Good luck with your new shop. What is the name of your new shop?

      • Thanks for the “Welcome”. My shop is LindaLandigJewelry. Here’s a link: http://www.artfire.com/users/LindaLandigJewelry

        There’s lotsat ArtFire that is new for me to learn about, so I’m just getting oriented at the moment. I like how well ArtFire interfaces with Facebook and blogs. Well, actually, I a couple of days ago, I tried to embed AF onto my WP blog, like you have, but I couldn’t get it to work. Any ideas on that?

      • Linda-the free version of wordpress doesn’t support javascript widgets so that is why we can’t use the rapid card and the Shop window on the wordpress blog. I have spoke with others on Artfire that use the paid version and have no problems with any of the Artfire widgets. What I have done as a work around is create an image file and place it in a widget and then link a url on the photo to my Artfire shop. Not the preferred way but it works for now.

        Hope this helps, good luck with your shop. Off to take a look right now.

  3. You’re so organized! I’m really impressed. Looks great!

    And thank you for commenting on my blog about Jamie. So happy to hear your brother is doing so well. Jamie still has some issues, but, his recovery truly is miraculous, too.

    • Thanks for taking a look. Best wishes and prayers to you and Jamie.

Leave a Reply

